Genesis of the Society

ESI was formally established on 21 January 1970 under the initiative of behavioural biologists from Bangalore University and the University of Agricultural Sciences (UAS), Bangalore. The Society was created to foster research in and teaching of animal behaviour in the universities in the country and outside. An ad-hoc committee with Dr. M.L. Roonwal of Jodhpur University as President, Prof S A Barnett of the University of Glasgow as Vice President and Dr. M.D. Parthasarathy of Bangalore University as Secretary was formed and the society was formally registered on 20 July 1971. From the time of inception, the Society has successfully organized conferences annually in different parts of the country, in partnership with premier research organisations, and the ESI Annual Conference has become an annual landmark event in research communication.


ESI was established to serve as a platform for the exchange of scientific knowledge through the scholarly dissemination of research at its annual meetings. The membership of the Society and hence the Annual Conferences strike a balance between theoretical studies and research works that provide input to resolving vexing conservation issues based on deeper understanding of animal behaviour. Biodiversity management using ethological knowledge is emerging as a key area of the Society.


Forty one Annual Conferences were conducted on various themes in animal behaviour until 2017, in partnership with leading research organisations in various parts of the country. The forty first conference (2017) was on the impact of climate change on animal behaviour and the fortieth conference (2016) was focused on the behaviour of agriculturally important insects. ESI also had the honour of hosting the 26th Annual Conference of the International Council of Ethologists in 1999. The forty second Annual Conference will be on the inter-relationships between animal behaviour, biodiversity conservation and human future. The activities of ESI involve:

  • Organizing Annual Conferences
  • Publications
  • Organizing Seminars for research students
  • Annual Student Ethologist Awards

Office Bearers

Dr. S. Faizi


Ecologist, Trivandrum
[email protected]

Dr. A.K Chakravarthy

Vice President

Head, Division of Entomology and Nematology, Indian Institute of Horticulture Research
[email protected]

Dr. A. Maulishree


CEO, ICT Skills  Development Society, Department of IT, BT and S&T, Karnataka

Dr Binoy V V

Joint Secretary

Assistant Professor, National Institute of Advanced Studies (NIAS), Bangalore
[email protected]

Dr Sreedevi Kolla


Senior scientist, ICAR-National Bureau of Agricultural Insect Resources(NBAIR), Bangalore
[email protected]

Executive Committee Members

Prof Renee M. Borges

Center for Ecological Sciences, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore
[email protected]

Dr. M. Manjunatha

Dean, College of Agriculture and Horticulture, Shimoga
[email protected]

Dr Deepak Apte

Director, Bombay Natural History Society (BNHS)
[email protected]

Dr. S. Rajashekara

Dept of Zoology, Bangalore University
[email protected]

Dr Renu Kohli

Associate Professor of Zoology, Govt College , Pali, University of Jodhpur
[email protected]

Dr HAS Yahya

Former Professor of Wildlife Biology, Aligarh Muslim University
[email protected]

Dr Manjari Jain

Assistant Professor, Dept. of Biological Sciences, Indian Institute of Science Education and Research (IISER)
[email protected]

Dr B. Anjan Kumar Prusty

Associate Professor,Natural Resource Management and Geoinformatics, Khallikote (Cluster) University
[email protected]